Honda CBR250 Installation

Started by willfly4food, January 06, 2013, 04:39:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

willfly4food

I wanted to make my bike as visible as possible, and after a bit of research, decided to update my headlight, side lights, and add some very bright LEDs. I am loving the results so far! Here is what I did:

Headlights: I replaced my stock bulb with an H4 Philips X-treme Vision Plus 55/60 W bulb. This was a cheap upgrade, so I figured why not do this while adding LEDs. It seems like a whiter light to me. I am still a newb, so I haven't been riding around at night yet, but I will feel more confident doing so now that I've lit up my bike.

Side Lights: This was another cheap upgrade, and an easy one, too. I replaced the stock bulbs with BikeVis T10 501 V1 LEDs. They have a bluish tint which I really like, but I don't think they're blue enough to get me in any trouble with the law. It was hard to get a good picture of these, but I like the effect!

Front-facing LEDs: I put two V2 White Bullet LEDs on my frame sliders, facing forward. These are BRIGHT. While I was at it, I got the PodMod Kit for this set of LEDs. I mounted these low, underneath my frame sliders. Mounting them there helps to create a 'larger' front lighting profile for the bike, which some people say helps you get noticed. Yes, if I drop the bike my LEDs might get damaged, and they're also more susceptible to road debris. That's okay with me, I'm giving it a try regardless. I mounted them about 2 cm in from the slider tip to help minimize the beating they would take if I drop the bike. To mount these on the frame sliders, I got creative with zip-ties: I cut notches in the base of the Bullet LEDs, which allowed me to wrap a small zip-tie around the light without the light slipping out. Then I zip-tied other zip-ties to that zip-tie. Between my zip-tie solution and the tape that was already on the LED base, they're not moving any time soon.